Skip to Main Content

Pistol Permits

Pistol Permits

The State of Alabama recognizes concealed carry pistol licenses or permits issued by other states; however, the carrier must observe all applicable laws while in Alabama. Also, a person may carry or transport a long gun (rifle or shotgun) without a permit. A person may lawfully transport a firearm, including a handgun, from one state in which they are legal to possess to another state without a permit as required under Alabama law, provided the following conditions are met:

  1. The firearm is unloaded.
  2. Neither the firearm nor any ammunition being transported is readily accessible or is directly accessible from the passenger compartment of such transporting vehicle.
  3. In case of a vehicle without a compartment separate from the driver's compartment, the firearm and ammunition shall be in a locked container other than the glove box or console. Title 18 U.S.C, section 926A

Under Alabama law, no person convicted in this state or elsewhere of a "crime of violence" may own or possess a pistol. Section 13A-11-72. Crimes of violence are defined as murder, manslaughter, rape, assault, robbery, burglary, and kidnapping. No person addicted to drugs or habitually intoxicated may own or possess a pistol. Section 13A-11-72. Any person in violation of Alabama's pistol laws may be arrested and upon conviction, subjected to a term of imprisonment of not more than one year and a fine of not more than $500, or both. The pistol will be seized and may be forfeited by court order.



Ensure all requested information is filled in COMPLETELY and ACCURATELY; failure to do so may result in delays or denial of the application.
All lines that request an address MUST have city, state and zip code to be considered complete.

Pistol Permit applications may also be obtained at the Geneva County Sheriff's Office located at 200 N Commerce St. Geneva Al 36340 (Court House)

This application is for a general class non-restrictive concealed carry permit. It covers concealed carry of a handgun and does not require the licensee to carry a specific firearm.

Please read the following before applying for a permit:

  1. You can only apply for a permit in the county where you live; therefore you must be a resident of Geneva County before you can apply for a permit with this office.
  2. You are not required to have a permit for a rifle or shotgun.
  3. Once the application has been submitted, a back ground check will be done.
  4. You must be 18 years of age or older to apply for a permit.
  5. You must appear in person to pick up a permit.
  6. Permits can be issued up to five years at a time.
  7. The Sheriff's Office accepts currency or checks.

Permits may be picked up Monday thru Thursday 7:00am to 5:30pm. Friday 8:00a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Concealed Carry Firearms Permits Information Disclosure Policy:

It is the policy of the Geneva County Sheriff's Office to maintain the privacy of all individuals who hold a concealed carry firearms permit issued by the Sheriff of Geneva County. Records concerning information on concealed carry firearms permits are considered confidential and are not released to the public.


The question regarding being charged or convicted of any crime DOES include traffic tickets. While it is not required for you to list each one separately, or to have specific years, failure to disclose this information may be grounds for denial of the application.

  • “OTHER NAMES” is intended for use for prior last names. Please include any LEGAL names you have used for identification.
  • The question “Has your license ever been revoked?” refers to a pistol license, not a driver’s license.

You may return the application in one of two ways:

Bring the application and your driver’s license to the Geneva County Sheriff’s Office.

Office Hours: Monday - Thursday 7:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Friday 8:00a.m to 3:30p.m.  We apologize for the inconvenience but we are unable to issue permits after 5:30 p.m.

Mail the completed application to the Sheriff’s Office:

Geneva County Sheriff’s Office
Attn: Frannie Helms
P.O. Box 115
Geneva Al 36340

You must be present to receive your conceal permit due to the fact that a picture must be taken. 

When listing phone numbers, one of the blanks may be used for a cell phone number if that is the best way to reach the applicant.      

*We only except Cash or Checks.

Permit Fees

 1 Year

5 yr

After having a

permit for 5 years


 Click HERE to visit the Alabama Attorney General’s Website for more information

Click here for ATF Guidelines 


  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • New Hampshire
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming